First Deposit Casino Bonus: Is It Worth Taking? What the Terms of 27 Casinos Say (2026)

Promotion pages and bonus terms re-read on 22 October 2026 from an Australian connection, in a browser, without an account. General terms are copies taken on 20 October 2026 (11 October for FastPay, Bizzo and Lucky Dreams); rows marked 20 Oct were not re-read on 22 October. We do not publish bonus codes: where one is needed, we say so. · 18+ · How this site is funded

On the terms we read on 20–22 October 2026, none of the 22 first deposit bonuses with a wagering multiple we could find pays for itself on average: every multiple, from 30× to 60×, sits above the 25× break-even point of a pokie set to 96% RTP (return to player: the game pays back 96% of all bets on average).

Should you take it, and what can you withdraw?

On average, no: the play the bonus asks for costs more than the bonus. Wagering means betting a set total, the turnover, before you can withdraw, and that betting has a price. On a pokie set to 96% RTP the house edge, the share of bets the casino keeps on average, is 4%, so every A$100 bet costs about A$4 on average. A bonus wagered 25 times on the bonus costs exactly the bonus; every multiple in our set is 30× or more. This is our arithmetic, not a casino figure. Each game has its own RTP, and one session can still win: variance hides the cost, it does not remove it.

The conclusion holds whichever base the casino uses. Where the base is the deposit plus the bonus, the turnover is larger still. Where the terms don't name the base, 30× or more is above break-even on either base the terms we read use (bonus, or deposit plus bonus).

A bonus can still make sense as a small discount on play you were going to buy anyway. Take it only if all three are true:

  • You would play the whole turnover anyway, on pokies, under the maximum bet and inside the time limit. This does not hold if you play table games (Ozwin's terms leave them out of wagering) or if the time limit is short: 48 hours at FastPay, 3 days for each deposit step at Ricky Casino, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots and Casinonic.
  • The cash-out cap does not cut what you hope to win. This does not hold at Golden Crown, where withdrawals from bonus winnings are capped at five times the deposit, or at Casino Rocket, whose A$7,500 cap on winnings from the first three deposits applies whether or not you take a bonus.
  • You know how to take your own deposit back. The bonus terms of 11 casinos in our table let you withdraw your deposit before wagering; you lose the bonus and its winnings. But the general terms of 14 casinos, Spinago, Lucky Dreams and Casino Rocket among them, still ask for the deposit to be wagered three times. Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms ask for once. Ozwin, Wolf Winner and Casino Mate may charge a fee if the deposit was not wagered (“typically 15%” at Ozwin, at least 10% at the other two). The terms don't explain how these rules combine. For Golden Crown and King Billy, the bonus terms we read don't say whether you can take the deposit back early. Details are in the decline section.

Terms say what a casino commits to, not what it pays; we did not register, claim or withdraw. Nine casinos showed the “outside of Australia” notice on 22 October; see the legal section.

Is the headline one deposit or a package?

Often a package. A “welcome bonus” is usually several deposit bonuses, and the headline is their sum; the first deposit bonus is only its first step, with its own wagering and time limit. Three examples:

  • Woo Casino (22 Oct): 100% up to A$1,850 + 150 free spins on the first deposit, inside a package of A$6,500 + 200 free spins over up to four deposits.
  • Ricky Casino (22 Oct): 100% up to A$500 + 100 free spins on the first deposit; the A$7,500 + 550 free spins headline is spread over ten steps.
  • Casino Rocket (22 Oct): a standard first deposit bonus of up to A$500 + 50 free spins, with the A$7,500 cap on winnings from the first three deposits in its general terms (20 Oct).

Compare the first step, not the package. Queen Spins (A$500 first, A$5,000 over ten deposits) and King Billy (125% up to A$375 first, A$3,000 + 450 free spins in total) follow the same pattern. Ozwin splits its “400% up to $4,000” into two parts. Several casinos write “$” without naming the currency; we quote those figures as written.

What the wagering costs on a A$50 deposit

Expected cost = house edge × turnover. At 96% RTP that is 0.04 × multiple × base. Wagered on the bonus, a bonus pays for itself only below 25×. Wagered on deposit plus bonus with a 100% match, the turnover doubles and break-even falls to 12.5×. The table works this through on a A$50 deposit; it is our arithmetic, not a measurement.

Example on a A$50 depositBonusWhole balance (deposit + bonus)TurnoverExpected cost at 96% RTP
100% match, 40× the bonus (as Spinago; Golden Crown's match part)A$50A$100A$2,000about A$80 — more than the bonus
100% match, 50× the bonus (as Ricky Casino, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots, Casinonic, FastPay)A$50A$100A$2,500about A$100 — twice the bonus, equal to the whole balance
100% match, 35× deposit + bonus (the base Ozwin, Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms write)A$50A$100A$3,500about A$140 — more than the whole balance
250% match, 60× (Grand Rush; its terms don't name the base)A$125A$175A$7,500 if counted on the bonus only; A$10,500 on deposit + bonusabout A$300 or A$420 — more than the whole balance

Where the expected cost is as large as the balance or larger, the average outcome is a balance that reaches zero before the wagering is done. You cannot lose more than you deposited, so A$300 is not a sum you would lose; it means that on average the turnover is not completed.

The figures also assume that every bet counts. Several casinos bet your real money first, and the terms don't say whether those bets count toward the bonus wagering, so we count the whole turnover. Golden Crown also adds free-spin winnings to the base, which raises its turnover.

If you do finish, a cap can still cut the result. On a A$50 deposit: at Golden Crown, withdrawals from bonus winnings are capped at five times the deposit, A$250; on FastPay's cash part, at ten times the bonus, A$500; at Grand Rush, at ten times the deposit, 500 in whatever dollars its terms mean (they name no currency). How bonuses work in general is on casino bonus types.

Five numbers that cut a bonus or a withdrawal

Find these five in the bonus terms before you deposit. Where we write that the terms don't say something, we searched the terms we read and did not find it; the rule may still exist.

  • Maximum bet while the bonus is active. A$7–A$10 where the terms name Australian dollars (A$7 at Golden Crown, A$10 at FastPay). Grand Rush writes “$5 per round” and Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms “$10”, with no currency named; Dundee Slots and Casinonic give €5 “or equivalent”. Each casino's figure is in the table.
  • The time limit. From 48 hours at FastPay (“otherwise, the bonus and all winnings will be forfeited”) to 30 days at CasinoChan and King Billy; 3 days for each step at Ricky Casino, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots and Casinonic; 14 days at Golden Crown. For the first deposit, the terms of Woo Casino, PlayAmo, Casino Rocket and Spinago don't say.
  • The cash-out cap. Golden Crown: five times the deposit, no more than A$7,500, and A$225 from the spins. FastPay: ten times the bonus on the cash part. Wolf Winner, King Johnnie and Jackpot Jill: “$5000” or six times the welcome deposits, “whichever is larger”; that is the first four deposits at Wolf Winner, the first three at King Johnnie and the first five at Jackpot Jill. Grand Rush: ten times the deposit, up to “$10,000”, and “$100” from the spins. Casino Mate: “$5000”. Casino Rocket: A$7,500 on the first three deposits, bonus or not.
  • Sticky or not. At Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms the bonus is sticky: “the initial bonus amount will be deducted upon withdrawal”. The same documents cap welcome match withdrawals at “x20 the deposit amount” and also say there is “no maximum cashout restriction attached to Match bonuses”; we cannot tell which applies. Spinago writes “All the bonuses are non-sticky.”, Casino Rocket “All bonuses are non-sticky – you must finish wagering before withdrawing.”
  • The code and the moment you claim. A code is needed at Golden Crown, Woo Casino, CasinoChan, PlayAmo, Ozwin, Fair Go and PlayCroco. At FastPay “any bonus code will cancel this bonus”. Fair Go refuses the bonus once you have started wagering the deposit. Grand Rush says both that a match bonus “must be claimed immediately after deposit and before any wager is placed” and that deposits must be wagered once “before any bonus related to that deposit will be credited”; the two don't fit together. For Ricky Casino, Casinonic, Dundee Slots, Queen Spins, Spinago, King Billy and Casino Rocket, the terms we read do not mention a code; check before you deposit.

Can you decline the bonus and withdraw your deposit?

Usually you can decline, but your deposit is not automatically free to withdraw. There are two layers of rules.

First, the bonus terms. Eleven casinos in our table (Woo Casino, PlayAmo, Ricky Casino, Casinonic, Dundee Slots, Queen Spins, CasinoChan, BitStarz, Spinago, Lucky Dreams and Casino Rocket) let you ask for your deposit before the wagering is done. Spinago, Lucky Dreams and Casino Rocket put it this way: “A player can request a withdrawal of their deposit before meeting the requirements for bonus wagering. In this case, the amount of the bonus and winnings are void, and the remaining funds, if any, are paid to the player.” The same three also write: “A player has the right to cancel any bonuses without proceeding to their wagering, without any loss of their own funds.” Their general terms, however, also carry the three-times deposit rule below. At FastPay you can cancel the bonus in the Bonus section or through live chat.

Second, the general terms. Those of 14 casinos in our table say: “Any deposit must be wagered three (3) times the deposited amount before you may withdraw those funds.” (Bizzo and Lucky Dreams in their own words). The 14 are Golden Crown, Woo Casino, CasinoChan, PlayAmo, Ricky Casino, Casinonic, King Billy, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots, Spinago, Casino Rocket, FastPay, Bizzo and Lucky Dreams. On a A$50 deposit that is A$150 of play.

Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms ask for the deposit to be wagered at least once. Ozwin may charge a fee, “typically 15%”, and Wolf Winner and Casino Mate at least 10%, if the deposit was not wagered. The terms don't explain how the three-times rule fits with the bonus terms that let you withdraw your deposit before wagering. Ask support in writing before you deposit, and keep the reply. For King Johnnie, Jackpot Jill, Fair Go, PlayCroco and Grand Rush we found no deposit-turnover rule in the general terms we read; there may still be one.

Some casinos attach conditions to declining:

  • Golden Crown: “*Please note that if you cancel the bonus or choose the option 'I refused from all bonuses,' you won't receive a Welcome Bonus. If the deposit bonus is not automatically granted after making a qualifying deposit, please contact us before any bets are made, we will manually grant the bonus for you.” The terms don't say whether a forgotten code counts as “not automatically granted”; ask before you bet.
  • King Billy: “If you cancel the bonus before completing the requirements, you lose both the bonus and all related winnings.”
  • Casino Rocket: withdrawing before you finish the welcome package means “further welcome bonuses will no longer be available”, and declining does not lift the A$7,500 cap on the first three deposits.

What is the minimum deposit for the bonus?

Where the terms name a bonus minimum, none is below A$20 or “$20”. A$20 at FastPay; A$25 at Woo Casino and PlayAmo; A$30 at Ricky Casino, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots, Casinonic and Casino Rocket; A$32 at Spinago; A$45 at Golden Crown. Fair Go and PlayCroco write “$20”, Wolf Winner, King Johnnie, Jackpot Jill and Casino Mate “$/€20”; Casino Mate takes deposits from “$/€10” but pays a bonus from “$/€20”. CasinoChan gives “€20 or an equivalent amount”. At BitStarz, A$40 is the minimum for the 180 free spins. The terms we read name no bonus minimum for King Billy, Lucky Dreams, Ozwin, Lucky Tiger, Shazam, Rich Palms or Grand Rush. For Ignition and Bizzo we did not read the bonus terms. Smaller deposits in general are covered on minimum deposit casinos.

The terms, casino by casino

Each row is the casino's terms as written on the date shown, not an offer to players in Australia. Rows are grouped by the base of the wagering (bonus, then deposit + bonus, then base not named, then wagering not found) and, inside each group, sorted by the multiple from low to high. The order is not a ranking. “Not established” means our reading did not settle the figure; it may still exist. Headlines change often.

CasinoFirst-deposit headline (date read)Wagering and its baseMax bet · time limit · minimumCash-out capCodeNotice from Australia, 22 Oct
Golden Crown100% up to A$15,000 + 300 free spins; the terms give 15,000 in AUD/NZD (22 Oct)40× (deposit bonus + free-spin winnings)A$7 · 14 days · A$455× the deposit, no more than A$7,500; spins A$225NeededAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
SpinagoFirst deposit bonus up to A$240 in the terms; the promotion page shows €150 (22 Oct)40× the bonusA$8 · terms don't say · A$32Not established; “non-sticky”Not foundAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
Casino RocketUp to A$500 + 50 free spins (22 Oct)45× the bonusA$7.50 · terms don't say · A$30A$7,500 on winnings from the first three deposits, bonus or not (20 Oct)Not foundNo such notice in the page text
Ricky Casino100% up to A$500 + 100 free spins (22 Oct)50× the bonusA$7 · 3 days · A$30Not establishedNot foundAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
Queen Spins100% up to A$500 (22 Oct)50× the bonusA$7 · 3 days · A$30Not establishedNot foundAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
Dundee Slots100% up to A$800 + 100 free spins (22 Oct)50× the bonus€5 or equivalent · 3 days · A$30Not establishedNot foundAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
Casinonic100% up to A$500 (22 Oct)50× the bonus€5 or equivalent · 3 days · A$30Not establishedNot foundAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
FastPay100% up to A$750 + 100 free spins (22 Oct)50× the bonusA$10 · 48 hours · A$20Cash part 10× the bonus; spins A$75Not needed; a code cancels the bonusRegistration page loaded; no such notice in its text
Wolf Winner“1st Deposit: 125% up to $2,000 + 125 Free Spins” (home page, 20 Oct)50× the bonusNot established · not established · “$/€20”“$5000” or 6× the first four welcome deposits, whichever is largerNot establishedNo such notice in the page text
King Johnnie“The welcome package is $6,000 plus 200 Kash Spins over ten deposits” (home page, 20 Oct)50× the bonusNot established · not established · “$/€20”“$5000” or 6× the first three welcome deposits, whichever is largerNot establishedNot checked (page did not load)
Jackpot Jill“475% Deposit match bonus up to $7500 + 100 zero wager free spins” (home page, 20 Oct)50× the bonusNot established · not established · “$/€20”“$5000” or 6× the first five welcome deposits, whichever is largerNot establishedNot checked (page did not load)
Fair Go“100% up to $200” (22 Oct)30× deposit + bonusNot established · not established · “$20”Home page: “No max. cash out limit” (20 Oct)NeededNo such notice in the page text
Ozwin“200% up to $2,000”, part 1 of 2 (22 Oct)35× deposit + bonusNot established · not established · terms don't sayNot establishedNeeded (home page, 20 Oct)No such notice in the page text
Lucky Tiger“Standard deposits qualify for up to $6,000, while cryptocurrency deposits can reach up to $7,500” (home page, 20 Oct)35× deposit + bonus“$10” · not established · terms don't saySticky; x20 the deposit and “no maximum cashout” in the same termsNot establishedNot checked (page did not load)
Shazam“Up to $7500 Welcome Spell” (home page, 20 Oct)35× deposit + bonus“$10” · not established · terms don't saySticky; x20 the deposit and “no maximum cashout” in the same termsNot establishedNot checked (page did not load)
Rich PalmsUp to 6,000 in dollars of a currency not named (home page, 20 Oct)35× deposit + bonus“$10” · not established · terms don't saySticky; x20 the deposit and “no maximum cashout” in the same termsNot establishedNot checked (page did not load)
King Billy125% up to A$375 (22 Oct)At least 30× “unless otherwise stated”; base not namedA$7.50 · 30 days · terms don't sayNot establishedNot foundAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
Woo Casino100% up to A$1,850 + 150 free spins (22 Oct)40×; base not namedA$8 · terms don't say · A$25Not establishedNeededAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
CasinoChan100% up to A$1,850 + 100 free spins (22 Oct)40×; base not namedA$8 · 30 days · €20 or an equivalentNot establishedNeededNo such notice in the page text
Casino MateAmount not shown on the promotion page (22 Oct)40× in the general cash-in rule; the welcome offer's own multiple is not stated; base not named (20 Oct)Not established · not established · “$/€20”“$5000” on sign-up bonusesNot establishedNo such notice in the page text
PlayAmo100% up to A$1,850 + 100 free spins (22 Oct)50×; base not namedA$8 · terms don't say · A$25Not establishedNeededAsked to confirm visitor is outside Australia
Grand Rush“250% Match up to $5500 + 250 Free Spins Over 7 Days” (22 Oct)60×; base not named (20 Oct)“$5 per round” · not established · terms don't say10× the deposit, up to “$10,000”; spins “$100”Not establishedNo such notice in the page text
BitStarz100% bonus + 180 free spins on the first deposit (22 Oct)Not found for the first deposit bonusNot established · not established · A$40 for the spinsNot establishedNot needed for the spinsNo such notice in the page text
Lucky Dreams“UP TO $10,000” welcome offer (entry page, 22 Oct)Offer terms behind log-in; general bonus terms: 40× the bonus unless the offer says otherwiseA$8 by default · not established · terms don't sayNot establishedNot establishedNo such notice in the page text
PlayCroco“200% up to $5,000” (22 Oct)Not found in the general terms (20 Oct)Not established · not established · “$20”Not establishedNeededNo such notice in the page text
Ignition“100% up to $1,000 with a credit card”, or “150% up to $1,500 with Crypto” (22 Oct)Not readNot readNot readNot readNo such notice in the page text
Bizzo125% up to A$2,500 + 1 bonus game (22 Oct)Not readNot readNot readNot readNo such notice in the page text

The lowest stated multiple is King Billy's “at least 30 (thirty) times”, from general terms that apply “unless otherwise stated”; the welcome offer's own multiple and the base are not stated. Fair Go's 30× is on deposit plus bonus: on a 100% match that is 60 times the bonus, stricter than Spinago's 40× the bonus. Offers sold as wager-free are covered on casinos with no wagering requirements; offers paid with no deposit at all, on no deposit casino bonuses.

Is it legal to take one from Australia?

The offence in Australian law is written for the provider of the service, and no online casino is licensed in Australia. Section 15(1) of the Interactive Gambling Act 2001 says: “A person commits an offence if: (a) the person intentionally provides a prohibited interactive gambling service; and (b) the service has an Australian-customer link”.

The regulator, the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA), blocks offshore casino domains. On its list as of 18 October 2026 were 12 of the exact addresses we read, including those of Golden Crown, Woo Casino, CasinoChan, PlayAmo, Ricky Casino, Spinago, FastPay and BitStarz. If an address is missing from the list, the brand may still be blocked under another address: other domains of several of these brands are on it.

On 22 October 2026, from an Australian connection, nine casinos showed a notice reading “In proceeding I confirm that I am currently accessing this website outside of Australia”: Golden Crown, Woo Casino, PlayAmo, Ricky Casino, Casinonic, King Billy, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots and Spinago. That is one observation on one day. We don't know whether these casinos accept players in Australia or would pay them a bonus, and we don't suggest they do.

FAQ

Which casino has the best first deposit bonus?

On the terms, none is worth taking on average: none of the 22 offers with a wagering multiple we could find pays for itself at 96% RTP. The lowest stated multiple is King Billy's “at least 30 (thirty) times”, from general terms that apply “unless otherwise stated”; the welcome offer's own multiple and the base are not stated, and on 22 October King Billy asked visitors from Australia to confirm they were outside Australia. The largest headline, Golden Crown's 100% up to A$15,000, carries 40× and a cap of five times the deposit.

Is wagering counted on the bonus or the deposit plus bonus?

It depends on the casino. Ricky Casino, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots, Casinonic, Spinago, Casino Rocket, FastPay, Wolf Winner, King Johnnie and Jackpot Jill count the bonus; Golden Crown counts the bonus plus free-spin winnings. Ozwin, Fair Go, Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms count the deposit plus the bonus. King Billy, Woo Casino, CasinoChan, Casino Mate, PlayAmo and Grand Rush give a multiple without naming the base; for King Billy and Casino Mate it is a general rule, not one stated for the welcome offer.

Can I withdraw a first deposit bonus?

Not on its own: what you can withdraw is the balance left after wagering, up to any cap. At Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms the bonus is sticky: “the initial bonus amount will be deducted upon withdrawal”. Caps include five times the deposit at Golden Crown, no more than A$7,500, and ten times the bonus on FastPay's cash part.

Can I withdraw my deposit without taking the bonus?

Often, but not freely. The bonus terms of 11 casinos in our table let you withdraw your deposit before wagering, with the bonus and its winnings forfeited. The general terms of 14, Spinago, Lucky Dreams and Casino Rocket among them, still ask for the deposit to be wagered three times, and those of Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms once. The terms don't say how the rules combine, so ask support in writing before you deposit.

What if I forget the bonus code?

It depends on the casino, and most terms we read don't say. Golden Crown's terms say that if the bonus isn't credited automatically, you should contact support before any bets are made and it will be granted manually; they don't say whether a missed code counts. Fair Go refuses the bonus once you have started wagering the deposit, and at FastPay any code cancels the first deposit bonus.

What is the minimum deposit for a first deposit bonus?

A$20 to A$45 where the terms name one: A$20 at FastPay, A$25 at Woo Casino and PlayAmo, A$30 at Ricky Casino, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots, Casinonic and Casino Rocket, A$32 at Spinago and A$45 at Golden Crown. Fair Go and PlayCroco write “$20”, and Wolf Winner, King Johnnie, Jackpot Jill and Casino Mate “$/€20”, without naming Australian dollars. None is below A$20 where the minimum is named.

Sources and method

  • Promotion pages and bonus terms of Golden Crown, Woo Casino, CasinoChan, PlayAmo, Ricky Casino, Casinonic, King Billy, Queen Spins, Dundee Slots, Spinago, Casino Rocket, FastPay, BitStarz and Lucky Dreams, and the promotion pages of Ozwin, Fair Go, PlayCroco, Grand Rush, Casino Mate, Wolf Winner, Ignition and Bizzo: read on 22 October 2026 in a headless browser from an Australian connection, without an account.
  • General terms of the same casinos and of King Johnnie, Jackpot Jill, Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms: copies taken from an Australian connection on 20 October 2026 (11 October for FastPay, Bizzo and Lucky Dreams). Headlines of Wolf Winner, King Johnnie, Jackpot Jill, Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms, and the codes of Ozwin, Fair Go and PlayCroco: their home pages, 20 October 2026.
  • Not read: the promotion pages of Lucky Tiger, Shazam and Rich Palms (page not found on 22 October), King Johnnie and Jackpot Jill (empty), the Lucky Dreams welcome offer terms (behind log-in), the wagering terms of Ignition and Bizzo.
  • ACMA, blocked gambling websites: list as of 18 October 2026, exact domains compared.
  • Interactive Gambling Act 2001, s 15(1), compilation C2024C00646, read on 19 October 2026.
  • Cost figures are our arithmetic from the stated multiples and an example RTP of 96%, not measurements. We read the terms; we did not register, deposit, claim a bonus or withdraw, and we did not collect player reports. Terms show what a casino commits to, not what it pays.

Bonus codes are deliberately omitted. We earn a commission when readers sign up through links on this site; it did not decide what is written here.

No online casino is licensed in Australia. Gambling is a cost, not an income; you must be 18 or over. Free, confidential support is available 24/7 on 1800 858 858 through Gambling Help Online.

All casino reviews A–Z →

Player protection

Think. Is this a bet you really want to place?

18+ only Gambling is for adults

No online casino is licensed in Australia, so BetStop does not block the sites reviewed here — it covers licensed Australian operators only. What does work offshore: self-exclusion with each operator, a device blocker, and a gambling block in your banking app. How to set each one up.

Advertising disclosure. We earn a commission if you open an account with a casino through the casino links on this site. The casino pays it; it does not change what you deposit, the bonus you are offered or the terms you play under. The facts and scores in our reviews come from reading each operator’s own terms and cashier, and a commission does not move either. No casino we review holds an Australian licence — online casino games cannot be licensed in Australia — and the decision to register is yours alone. 18+ only. Full disclosure. Free, confidential help: Gambling Help Online, 1800 858 858.

Explore the site