Online Keno in Australia (2026): The Odds by Spot Count, and Which Casinos Carry It

Checked 19 September 2026. Probabilities are exact hypergeometric figures for the standard 80-ball, 20-drawn game; casino-level facts were read from each operator's lobby and terms from an Australian IP address.

“Keno” in Australia means two different products that share a name and almost nothing else. One is the licensed game drawn in clubs, pubs and TABs every few minutes, run by state-licensed operators and legal to play online where they offer it. The other is the random-number casino game in offshore lobbies, which the Interactive Gambling Act prohibits providers from offering here. This page is about the second, because that is what the casinos we review carry — and the most useful thing we can tell you about it is the arithmetic, which no lobby shows and which decides everything.

Two kenos: the licensed draw and the casino game

The licensed draw is the one on the screens in venues: twenty numbers from eighty, drawn on a fixed cycle, tickets bought at the counter or, in the states that permit it, through the operator's own site or app. It is lottery-style gambling under state and territory licences, and the operators publish their own rules, paytables and returns. If you searched for keno results, the app, or the payout chart for a particular state, that is the product you want and it is not what this page covers.

The casino game is a random-number title in an online casino lobby — the same 80 balls and 20 draws, but drawn instantly by the game's RNG each time you press play, with a paytable set by the studio and a return usually published in the game's rules screen. No Australian licence covers it: the Interactive Gambling Act prohibits providers from offering online casino games to people in Australia, and the offshore operators below serve Australians under foreign licences or none. What that means for the player is on its own page.

How the casino game works

You pick between one and ten numbers (“spots”) from a grid of eighty, or let the game pick for you; twenty are drawn; you are paid according to how many of yours came up, from a paytable that depends on how many you picked. A one-spot ticket pays only if your single number is among the twenty. A ten-spot ticket pays a small amount for five hits, a large amount for ten, and often nothing for fewer than four. There are no decisions after the pick, and no way to influence the draw. Every game of online keno is therefore a bet on one question: how many of my n numbers are among 20 drawn from 80? That question has an exact answer.

The odds by spot count

These figures do not depend on the casino, the studio or the paytable; they follow from 80 balls and 20 draws and are the same at every table.

Spots pickedChance of no hits at allMost likely outcomeChance of hitting allChance of hitting at least half
175.0%0 hits (75.0%)1 in 425.0%
256.0%0 hits (56.0%)1 in 1744.0%
341.7%1 hit (43.1%)1 in 7215.3%
430.8%1 hit (43.3%)1 in 32625.9%
522.7%1 hit (40.6%)1 in 1,5519.7%
616.7%1 hit (36.3%)1 in 7,75316.2%
712.2%2 hits (32.7%)1 in 40,9796.2%
88.8%2 hits (32.8%)1 in 230,11510.2%
96.4%2 hits (31.6%)1 in 1,380,6883.9%
104.6%2 hits (29.5%)1 in 8,911,7116.5%

Read the ten-spot row, which is the ticket the big-jackpot advertising is built on. Two hits is the single most likely result, five hits happens on 5.1% of tickets, six on 1.2%, seven on one ticket in 600, and all ten on one in 8.9 million — longer odds than most lotteries. A ten-spot ticket that pays nothing for fewer than four hits, which is the common online paytable, loses on 79% of plays. That is not a criticism of the game; it is the shape of it, and the shape is what the paytable is priced against.

Where the house edge lives: the paytable

Because the probabilities are fixed, a keno title's return is entirely a matter of what it pays for each number of hits, and two games that look identical on screen can return very different amounts. Multiply each outcome's probability by its payout, add them up, and the total is the return to player; whatever is left of 100% is the house edge. Online keno titles from the larger studios tend to publish returns in the low-to-mid 90s in the rules screen, with the edge varying by spot count within the same game; a four-spot ticket and a ten-spot ticket at the same title are often priced several points apart. Older or smaller studios' titles, and the licensed venue draw, run considerably lower. There is no way to know without opening the rules screen, and the rules screen is one tap away in every lobby below — the same check we recommend for pokies applies here with more force, because the spread between keno paytables is wider than the spread between pokies builds.

The practical consequence: the only strategic decision in keno is which title and which spot count to play, and the rules screen answers both. Everything after that is variance.

Which casinos carry keno, and how the bonus terms treat it

Keno is a background title at most sites and a headline one at very few. Mentions are counts on the operator's own landing page when we rendered it on 19 September 2026; bonus treatment is quoted from the general terms. Scores are the ones on our reviews and reflect the withdrawal terms, not the keno floor.

Advertising disclosure. We earn a commission if you open an account with a casino through the offer links on this page. The casino pays it; it does not change what you deposit, the bonus you are offered or the terms you play under. The facts and the rating in this review come from reading the operator’s own terms and cashier, and a commission does not move either. No casino reviewed here holds an Australian licence — online casino games cannot be licensed in Australia — and the decision to register is yours alone. 18+ only. Full disclosure. Free, confidential help: Gambling Help Online, 1800 858 858.
CasinoScoreKeno on the lobby pageKeno under a bonus
King Billy
Visit →
7.5A dedicated “Online Keno” section — 45 references, the only site in the set that treats keno as a categorySet per promotion; “maximum bet is 1000 EUR” on table and live games while a bonus is active
PlayAmo
Visit →
7.8Keno titles including Universe Keno; 8 referencesSet per promotion
Woo Casino, CasinoChan, Golden Crown7.8 / 7.8 / 8.0Keno present in the lobby (4–6 references)Set per promotion
Grand Rush4.5“Keno Games” and “Online Keno” namedKeno counts 100% toward wagering, the same as pokies, and the first three deposit-match bonuses “may be used on Slots, Keno or Scratch Card games” — the most keno-friendly bonus terms we read
King Johnnie4.8Keno presentNot stated in the general terms; 24-hour reversible hold and 10% fee on unwagered cash-outs apply to any win
BitStarz, Rocket4.5 / 5.3Keno presentNot stated; neither commits to anything on withdrawals either
Ozwin5.4Keno presentTable games excluded from wagering; keno not named either way
Casinonic, Ricky, Dundee Slots, Queen Spins, Spinago, Wolf Winner, Jackpot Jill, Fair Go, PlayCroco, Lucky Tiger, Shazam, Rich Palms, Ignition—Keno not named on the landing page (it may sit in a “specialty” or “other” category behind the lobby)—

Grand Rush's terms are the interesting entry. At most operators keno is either unmentioned in the bonus rules or lumped with table games at a reduced weighting; Grand Rush counts it at 100% and names it as an eligible game for its first three bonuses. That does not make Grand Rush a good site — a 48-hour pending period, a A$100 minimum cash-out and a 60× multiple on free bonuses are why it scores 4.5 — but it is the one place where playing keno with a bonus is explicitly allowed. Elsewhere, read the offer page before assuming.

Spots, variance and the myths

Spot count is a volatility dial, not an edge dial. A two-spot ticket pays often and small; a ten-spot ticket pays rarely and, when it pays big, enormously. Neither changes the paytable's built-in return, but they change what a session feels like: at ten spots, the table above says you will see nothing at all on one ticket in twenty and a top prize essentially never. Pick the spot count to match how many games you want to play and how much swing you can stand, then check that the rules screen does not price your chosen spot count worse than the others.

Hot and cold numbers do not exist. Each draw is independent and the RNG does not remember the last one; a number that has “not come up for 30 draws” is exactly as likely as any other on the next. The history panels that some keno titles show are decoration.

Autoplay is the real cost multiplier. Casino keno draws instantly, and at three or four tickets a minute a A$1 stake at a 92% game costs about A$16 an hour in expectation — comparable to a pokie and several times the cost of baccarat on Banker. The licensed venue draw runs a game every few minutes and, whatever its return, cannot be played faster.

FAQ

Is online keno legal in Australia?

The licensed keno draw is legal and is offered online by state-licensed operators in the states that permit it. Random-number keno in an offshore casino is a prohibited service under the Interactive Gambling Act — prohibited for the provider, not the player. No offshore casino is licensed in Australia.

What are the odds of hitting all ten numbers in keno?

One in 8,911,711 for a ten-spot ticket. The most likely result on a ten-spot ticket is two hits; five hits happens on about 5% of tickets and seven on one in 600.

Which spot count is best?

None is better in expectation; the paytable sets the return for each. Fewer spots pay more often and smaller, more spots pay rarely and larger. Open the game's rules screen and compare the published return for each spot count — at some titles they differ by several points.

Does keno count toward bonus wagering?

At Grand Rush, 100%, and it is explicitly eligible for the first three deposit bonuses. At the Novatrix sites (PlayAmo, Woo, CasinoChan, King Billy) the weighting is set per promotion. Elsewhere the terms are silent, which in practice means checking the offer page or assuming it does not count.

Is online keno rigged?

The draw is not: certified RNG titles from the large studios are tested by the labs named in their rules. The paytable is where the operator's take lives, and it is disclosed in the same screen. What differs between casinos is not the game but what happens when you try to withdraw — the withdrawal terms are where that is decided.

Sources and method

Hit probabilities are exact hypergeometric values for 20 numbers drawn from 80 without replacement, computed for each spot count from one to ten. Statements about returns describe how a paytable determines return to player and where studios publish it; no return is asserted for any particular title, because the figure is in each game's own rules screen and varies by title and spot count. Casino-level facts — keno presence, references, bonus treatment — were read from each operator's own landing page and terms and conditions on 18–19 September 2026 from an Australian IP address. The licensed venue draw is described from its operators' published rules. We earn a commission through links marked “Visit”; it did not decide the order of the table.

No online casino is licensed in Australia. Gambling is a cost, not an income; you must be 18 or over. Free, confidential support is available 24/7 on 1800 858 858 through Gambling Help Online.

Casinos we have reviewed