Key facts
- Aristocrat and regulator documents name five versions (Roaring Riches, Cash Express Luxury Line, Super Jackpot Deluxe, Flamin Fortune and the online 50 Lions Deluxe) plus approvals of a plain 50 Lions; none gives the earliest machine’s reels, free games or release year.
- Aristocrat’s 2022 ANZ page gave specifications for its Cash Express Luxury Line 50 Lions for NSW and ACT and for Queensland: 50, 25 or 5 lines.
- There is no single RTP: the online 50 Lions Deluxe runs at 93.535%, 94.098% or 96.581% depending on the variation, and a 2013 ACT approval lists 85.03–92.58% for 50 Lions – Roaring Riches.
- Free play: Heart of Vegas, Aristocrat’s social casino app, names 50 Lions in its Australian store descriptions; we did not check the in-app lobby (17 October 2026).
- Pokies are among the online services ACMA lists as illegal to offer to people in Australia, and 0 of the 12 offshore lobbies we search list a game called 50 Lions (17 October 2026).
What 50 Lions is
50 Lions is an Aristocrat name used for several games, so a figure about “50 Lions” is only true for the version it came from. The plain name appears in an ACT list of previously approved Aristocrat games, signed on 30 April 2014. New Zealand’s Department of Internal Affairs listed four casino approvals under the name up to 3 July 2017.
Neither list gives features or a year, and the Aristocrat documents we found give no release year, so we print none. Aristocrat’s current page for Europe, the Middle East and Africa describes the look: “stately lions, ruby red roses and glittering diamonds”. InterGame, a trade publication, reported in August 2011 that Aristocrat had launched 50 Lions on European online casinos, first at Money Gaming and Genting Games; we found no Aristocrat release with these details.
| Version | What the documents confirm | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 50 Lions (venue machine, name only) | In the ACT list of previously approved Aristocrat games (30 April 2014); four New Zealand casino approvals under the name, one with “Golden Goals” in brackets (list up to 3 July 2017); no features stated | ACT Gaming Machine Approval 2014 (No 13), NI2014-188; NZ Department of Internal Affairs casino approvals (archived 29 January 2018) |
| 50 Lions – Roaring Riches | Gaming machine; ACT approval of a software fix, 5 August 2013: maximum bet $6.00, base credit 1c and 2c, return ranges 85.03–90.17% and 87.57–92.58% for two variations; in New Zealand’s Class 4 list (New Zealand’s term for gaming machines in pubs and clubs) up to July 2017 | ACT Gaming Machine Approval 2013 (No 22), NI2013-349; NZ Department of Internal Affairs Class 4 approvals (archived 29 January 2018) |
| Cash Express Luxury Line 50 Lions | Gaming machine, “one of the first titles released in the Cash Express Luxury Line game family” in 2022, a family that also includes Where’s the Gold and Queen of the Nile; Hold & Spin, Cash Express trains and free games; specifications for NSW and ACT and for Queensland; ACT approval 2 August 2022 | Aristocrat ANZ pages (archived 7 October 2022 and 22 June 2024); ACT NI2022-421; Aristocrat EMEA page (17 October 2026) |
| Super Jackpot Deluxe 50 Lions | Hold & Spin with Super Jackpot Deluxe; “Three flower symbols award Free Games with sticky wild symbols”; pages for the US and Latin America | Aristocrat Gaming US page (archived 10 August 2022) and Latin America page (17 October 2026) |
| Flamin Fortune 50 Lions | A choice between “traditional free games or fewer games with increased chances of triggering Hold & Spin”; pages for the US and Latin America | Aristocrat Gaming Latin America page (17 October 2026); US page (archived 12 November 2025) |
| 50 Lions Deluxe (online) | 50 lines played for 60 credits; a choice of 13, 8 or 5 free games; RTP set by variation | Aristocrat Interactive game rules (17 October 2026) |
Aristocrat’s current website has 50 Lions pages for Europe, the Middle East and Africa and for Latin America only, and none for Australia or New Zealand (site index, 17 October 2026).
What the documents say about the features
Feature rules exist for two versions: the 2022 Cash Express Luxury Line machine and the online 50 Lions Deluxe.
In the Cash Express Luxury Line game, Aristocrat’s 2022 ANZ page says players choose “10 free games with 3 Wilds added to reels 2, 3, 4 and 5 every game” or 5 free games (on Aristocrat’s page the sentence about that option is missing a word, so we do not say what it adds). The same page names Hold & Spin and the golden Cash Express feature, and says the game was launching on Aristocrat’s MarsX cabinet as a standalone or linked jackpot game.
Aristocrat’s pages describe the gold train differently by market. Its ANZ page archived on 22 June 2024 says a gold train awards “3 - 8 gold carriages”; its current EMEA page says “Gold Train repeater of up to 10x”.
| 50 Lions Deluxe (online) | |
|---|---|
| Lines and bet | 50 lines played for 60 credits; total bet is 60 credits times the bet multiplier |
| Free games trigger | 3 protea symbols, which appear on reels 1, 2 and 3 only; also at random at the end of a paid game without a protea win |
| Free games choice | 13, 8 or 5 free games |
| Extra symbols in free games | Each free game adds 1 blue diamond (13 games), 2 or 3 green diamonds (8 games) or 4 or 7 red diamonds (5 games) to reels 2–5 for the remaining free games |
| Retrigger | Once only: 5 more games (13), 3 more (8) or 1 more (5) |
| Diamonds | Substitute for all symbols except scatters; reels 2–5 only |
| RTP | 93.535% (var-02), 94.098% (var-03), 96.581% (var-04) |
Aristocrat Interactive, 50 Lions Deluxe game rules, read 17 October 2026. The pay table is shown as images we did not read, so we give no symbol pays or maximum win.
Two versions for the US and Latin America add their own rules: in Super Jackpot Deluxe 50 Lions three flower symbols award free games with sticky wilds, and Flamin Fortune 50 Lions offers traditional free games or fewer games with a better chance of Hold & Spin. We found no rules for the earliest 50 Lions machine, so we do not repeat the reel layouts and free-spin counts that unsourced listings give.
RTP: one name, several figures
There is no single RTP for 50 Lions; each figure we found belongs to one version. Aristocrat Interactive’s rules for the online 50 Lions Deluxe list 93.535%, 94.098% and 96.581% for three variations. Caesars’ rules page uses var-03 (94.098%), FanDuel’s var-04 (96.581%); var-02 (93.535%) is in the rules with no operator we found.
For the venue machine 50 Lions – Roaring Riches, the ACT’s 2013 approval lists return ranges of 85.03–90.17% and 87.57–92.58% for two variations. Lottomart, a UK online casino, states 92.11% for its 50 Lions and does not say which version it runs.
A 94.098% setting is an average over a very long run of play — about 94 credits for every 100 bet — and does not promise any return on a session. Our sources give no current RTP for 50 Lions machines in Australian venues. Venue machines must return at least 85% in NSW and Victorian pubs and clubs and Queensland venues (venue return limits by state).
Several versions carry the name, so one reason figures for “50 Lions” differ is that they can describe different games.
Free play: what exists
The one free route we can tie to Aristocrat is Heart of Vegas, which names 50 Lions in its App Store and Google Play descriptions in Australia (17 October 2026). Heart of Vegas is a social casino app played with virtual coins, published by Product Madness, part of Aristocrat. We did not open the lobby inside the app, so which 50 Lions version it carries is not stated. The App Store descriptions of Cashman Casino and Lightning Link Casino, also from Product Madness, do not name the game.
Aristocrat’s current site has no Australian page for any 50 Lions game (site index, 17 October 2026), and we know of no free 50 Lions website we can vouch for. Our Aristocrat guide explains what “free Aristocrat pokies” means; legal free play in other pokies is in our free pokies guide.
Where the real game is played
Regulator approvals and Aristocrat’s 2022 page tie 50 Lions games to venues in Australia and New Zealand, and Aristocrat Interactive’s rules and one UK operator tie them to regulated online casinos abroad; we found no current public list of venue machines (17 October 2026).
| Way | What we found | Source, date |
|---|---|---|
| Australian venues | ACT approvals: 50 Lions (in a 2014 list of previously approved games), Roaring Riches (software fix, 2013) and Cash Express Luxury Line (2 August 2022); Aristocrat’s 2022 ANZ page gave specifications for NSW and ACT and for Queensland. No current public list of machines in our sources | ACT notifiable instruments NI2013-349, NI2014-188, NI2022-421; Aristocrat ANZ page (archived 7 October 2022); searched 17 October 2026 |
| New Zealand casinos and Class 4 venues | Four casino approvals under the name and one Class 4 approval (Roaring Riches) in the lists up to July 2017 | NZ Department of Internal Affairs lists (archived 29 January 2018) |
| Aristocrat’s current website | 50 Lions pages for Europe, the Middle East and Africa and for Latin America only; none for Australia or New Zealand | Aristocrat Gaming site index, 17 October 2026 |
| Product Madness apps (virtual coins) | Heart of Vegas names 50 Lions in its App Store and Google Play descriptions in Australia; the App Store descriptions of Cashman Casino and Lightning Link Casino do not; in-app lobbies not checked | App Store (Australia) for all three apps; Google Play (Australia) for Heart of Vegas, 17 October 2026 |
| Regulated UK online casino | Lottomart (UK Gambling Commission account 51833, remote casino licence active) states RTP 92.11% and bets of £0.25–£5.00 on its 50 Lions page; we did not open the game | Lottomart page and UK Gambling Commission register, 17 October 2026 |
| Regulated US online casinos (Pennsylvania) | 50 Lions Deluxe is in 2 of the 6 partner rule lists Aristocrat Interactive publishes that we could read (Caesars and FanDuel, Pennsylvania); a rules list is not a lobby | Aristocrat Interactive game help, 17 October 2026 |
| Offshore casinos accepting Australians | 0 of the 12 lobbies we search list a game called 50 Lions; a search for the word Lions finds only other studios’ games | Lobby search from an Australian IP, 17 October 2026 |
The 12 lobbies are the ones our free pokies guide uses for title checks; they are offshore, not licensed in Australia, and we do not recommend them. ACMA lists “slots (pokies)” among illegal online services; our Aristocrat guide explains why offshore “Aristocrat” pokies are a different matter, and our guide to the law covers what the law means for the player.
How to tell a copy
Our Aristocrat guide calls the studio name in the game’s info panel the definitive test (signs of a copy). One more check applies to this title: a game calling itself 50 Lions Deluxe should offer a choice of 13, 8 or 5 free games, as Aristocrat Interactive’s rules do. A mismatch is a reason for doubt, not proof, because the rules we read are for one set of variations.
Safer play. Gambling Help Online is free and confidential, 24 hours a day, on 1800 858 858 and at gamblinghelponline.org.au. BetStop, at betstop.gov.au, is the national self-exclusion register for licensed Australian wagering; it does not cover online casinos. Set a limit before you play, including in social casino apps. You must be 18 or over. More contacts are on our support resources page.
50 Lions FAQ
Can you play 50 Lions pokies online for real money in Australia?
ACMA says the Interactive Gambling Act 2001 “makes it illegal for gambling providers to offer some online services to people in Australia” and lists “slots (pokies)” among illegal online services. The regulated online versions we found are at a UK Gambling Commission licensee (Lottomart) and in Aristocrat Interactive’s rules for two Pennsylvania operators. None of the 12 offshore lobbies we searched lists a game called 50 Lions (17 October 2026).
Is there a free 50 Lions pokie?
Heart of Vegas, Aristocrat’s social casino app from Product Madness, names 50 Lions in its Australian App Store and Google Play descriptions; we did not open the in-app lobby, so which version it carries is not stated (17 October 2026). Aristocrat’s current site has no Australian page for any 50 Lions game, and we know of no free 50 Lions website we can vouch for.
What is the RTP of 50 Lions?
There is no single figure. Aristocrat Interactive’s rules give 93.535%, 94.098% or 96.581% for the online 50 Lions Deluxe, depending on the variation; the ACT’s 2013 approval of 50 Lions – Roaring Riches lists ranges from 85.03% to 92.58%; Lottomart states 92.11% for its 50 Lions. Our sources give no current figure for Australian venue machines.
How do the free games work in 50 Lions?
It depends on the version. In the 2022 Cash Express Luxury Line game, Aristocrat says players choose 10 free games with 3 wilds added to reels 2 to 5 every game, or 5 free games. In the online 50 Lions Deluxe, 3 protea symbols on reels 1 to 3 start a choice of 13, 8 or 5 free games with extra diamonds added to reels 2 to 5, and the feature can be won again once. We found no rules for the earliest 50 Lions machine.
Is 50 Lions Deluxe the same game as 50 Lions?
We found nothing showing they are one game. 50 Lions Deluxe is an online game with its own rules and RTP in Aristocrat Interactive’s game help, and no document we found gives the rules of the earliest 50 Lions machine, so there is nothing to compare it with.
Sources and method
- Aristocrat Gaming, 50 Lions (Europe, Middle East and Africa), and the index of the pages on its current website, checked 17 October 2026
- Aristocrat Gaming, Latin America: Super Jackpot Deluxe 50 Lions and Flamin Fortune 50 Lions, checked 17 October 2026
- Aristocrat Gaming, US: Super Jackpot Deluxe 50 Lions, Wayback copy of 10 August 2022, and Flamin Fortune 50 Lions, Wayback copy of 12 November 2025, read 17 October 2026
- Aristocrat ANZ, Cash Express Luxury Line 50 Lions and Cash Express Luxury Line, Wayback copies of 7 October 2022, read 17 October 2026
- Aristocrat Gaming ANZ, Cash Express 50 Lions, Wayback copy of 22 June 2024, read 17 October 2026
- ACT Gambling and Racing Commission, gaming machine approvals: 2013 (No 22), NI2013-349, signed 5 August 2013; 2014 (No 13), NI2014-188, 30 April 2014; 2022 (No 8), NI2022-421, 2 August 2022; read 17 October 2026
- New Zealand Department of Internal Affairs, gaming approvals up to 3 July 2017: casino and Class 4, Wayback copies of 29 January 2018, read 17 October 2026
- Aristocrat Interactive, game help: 50 Lions Deluxe rules and the game lists for Caesars, FanDuel, ESPN Bet, DraftKings, Golden Nugget and Borgata, checked 17 October 2026
- Lottomart, 50 Lions, read 17 October 2026 from a server outside the UK; UK Gambling Commission, public register, account 51833 (Maple International Ventures Limited), checked 17 October 2026
- Heart of Vegas listings on the App Store (Australia) and Google Play (Australia); Cashman Casino and Lightning Link Casino listings on the App Store (Australia), checked 17 October 2026
- InterGame, First in a series of launches for Aristocrat, 9 August 2011 (trade press, secondary), read 17 October 2026
- Game lists of 12 offshore casinos, read from an Australian IP without an account, 17 October 2026; the casinos are not named here
- Law: Australian Communications and Media Authority, About the Interactive Gambling Act and Protect yourself from illegal gambling operators, read 17 October 2026
- Return-to-player floors in NSW, Victoria and Queensland, checked 11 October 2026: NSW Government, GambleAware NSW: poker machines; Victorian Government, RSG online glossary; Queensland Government, gambling winning odds
- Credits per 100 bet is arithmetic from a stated RTP setting
Written by: Helene Berner · First published: 18 October 2026 · Last updated: 18 October 2026