18+ · Free, confidential help 24/7: Gambling Help Online 1800 858 858We earn commissions from some operators. How we are funded

Lightning Link Pokies: How the Game Works

Updated 11 October 2026 · 7 min read · 18+ · How this site is funded

Lightning Link is Aristocrat’s family of pokies that share one Hold & Spin feature and one linked Grand jackpot; the genuine game is a land-based machine and, in Australia, a free virtual-coin app, while real-money online play has been available since July 2026 only in regulated North American markets.

Key facts

  • Aristocrat says Lightning Link premiered “more than a decade ago” and has been a leading land-based game family ever since (press release, 23 July 2026).
  • Hold & Spin works the same in every title, and the Grand jackpot is linked across the series (Aristocrat’s US game page).
  • Aristocrat’s US page lists 12 titles; its Europe, Middle East and Africa page lists 11.
  • Real-money online play started on 23 July 2026 in regulated US states and Canadian provinces. It is not offered to people in Australia.
  • The Lightning Link Casino app uses virtual coins that cannot be cashed out.
  • Venue machines in NSW and Queensland return 85–92% of money bet over their lifetime; the Victorian minimum is 85%, calculated over a year.

What Lightning Link is

Lightning Link is a group of Aristocrat pokies with different themes and a shared feature set. Aristocrat describes it as “a diverse group of some of our most popular games” offering “bonus prizes, a Hold & Spin Jackpot feature, and a ‘Big Reel’ Free Game where a large reel grants you big wins.”

Aristocrat’s press release of 23 July 2026 says the series “premiered more than a decade ago and has been a leading land-based game family ever since.” It gives no launch year, and neither do we.

Three Aristocrat businesses carry the name: Aristocrat Gaming makes the venue machines, Aristocrat Interactive runs the regulated real-money online version, and Product Madness publishes the free social app. Aristocrat’s game pages give no reel or line count for the series.

Hold & Spin: the feature every title shares

Hold & Spin is the series’ jackpot feature, and Aristocrat states that it “operates the same between all Lightning Link™ titles.” A player who knows it in one title knows it in the other eleven; the titles differ in their themes and free games.

Aristocrat’s public game pages name the feature but do not set out its rules, such as what triggers it or how many respins it gives. We found no Aristocrat source for those details, so this guide does not describe them.

The trade outlet CDC Gaming Reports quotes Aristocrat chief product officer Matt Primmer: “We created the Hold & Spin mechanic for Lightning Link” (3 October 2025).

The jackpots: one Grand linked across the series

The top prize, the Grand, is a linked progressive. Aristocrat’s US page says the “Grand Jackpot is linked to other games in series” and calls it a “Linked progressive award.” A linked progressive is a prize that grows across a group of connected machines rather than on one machine.

CDC Gaming Reports (3 October 2025) describes four tiers in the Lightning Link jackpot system: mini, minor, major and grand. Aristocrat’s pages publish no amount for any tier, so we give none. How fixed, standalone and linked jackpots differ is covered in our jackpot pokies guide.

The 12 Lightning Link titles

Aristocrat’s US page lists 12 titles, each “part of the Lightning Link™ / Lightning Cash™ family.” Its Europe, Middle East and Africa page lists the same games minus Dragon’s Riches. We did not find an Aristocrat list for Australian venues.

TitleFeature Aristocrat highlightsReal money online
Bengal TreasuresGrand jackpot as a linked progressive awardNot announced
Best BetNot stated on the pageNot announced
Dragon’s RichesNot stated on the page; US list onlyNot announced
Eyes of FortuneNot stated on the pageNot announced
Happy Lantern“Golden Palace” pick of Free Games or Hold & SpinNot announced
Heart Throbx2 multiplier on wilds during Free GamesNot announced
High StakesReels become one big reel during Free GamesUS states and Canada, from 23 July 2026
Magic PearlBig dolphin symbol triggers 3 additional Free GamesNot announced
Moon RaceNot stated on the pageNot announced
Sahara Gold“Golden Palace” pick of Free Games or Hold & SpinNot announced
Tiki Firex2 multiplier on wilds during Free GamesUS states and Canada, from 4 September 2026
Wild ChucoGrand jackpot linked to other games in the seriesNot announced

Features are as worded on aristocratgaming.com, checked 11 October 2026. “Not announced” means we found no Aristocrat announcement of an online version by that date.

Dragon Link is a separate Aristocrat series built on the same platform; its titles and features are on our Dragon Link page.

The Lightning Link Casino app: virtual coins, no cash-out

The app is free play, not gambling: its App Store listing says it “does not offer gambling or an opportunity to win real money or prizes” and that you must be 18 or over to access it. Product Madness publishes it as Lightning Link Casino Pokies on the App Store and Lightning Link Casino Slots on Google Play. It also carries two Dragon Link titles, Golden Century and Panda Magic.

Coins stay in the app. Product Madness’s help centre says the in-game balance “cannot be cashed out or sold for real money.” The app sells coin packs through in-app purchases, so money spent on coins is spending that does not come back.

Product Madness lists its official free-coin sources: the daily spin and return bonus, the hourly “Bonus Ready”, tier rewards, friends, giveaways on Facebook and other social channels, and a rotating “FREE COINS” bonus. Coin-generator sites are not on that list, and we do not link them. Other legitimate ways to play pokies for free are in our free pokies guide.

Real-money Lightning Link online

Aristocrat took Lightning Link online for real money on 23 July 2026, in regulated US states and Canadian provinces only. Its press release says Aristocrat Interactive “is bringing the Lightning Link franchise gaming experience to players in all regulated iGaming U.S. states and Canadian provinces for the first time,” starting with High Stakes. Tiki Fire followed on 4 September 2026.

Gambling.com (17 August 2026) named DraftKings, FanDuel and Hard Rock Bet among the first operators. Aristocrat Interactive describes itself as Aristocrat’s “regulated online Real Money Gaming (RMG) business” and says its products “are for use only in accordance with local laws and regulatory requirements.”

Our reading, not Aristocrat’s words: online pokies may not be offered to people in Australia, so a real-money “Lightning Link” at a site that accepts Australians is not Aristocrat’s licensed product. The studio named in a game’s info panel shows what it is. Our Aristocrat pokies guide explains how to recognise a copy.

What venue machines return in Australia

Venue machines must return 85–92% of all money bet over their lifetime, according to the NSW and Queensland governments. In Victoria the minimum is 85%, calculated over a year.

Return to player (RTP) is the share of all stakes a machine pays back as prizes over that period. At 85%, A$85 of every A$100 bet comes back on average and the machine keeps A$15. A single session can end far from that average. We found no per-title RTP published by Aristocrat for Lightning Link venue machines.

Online for real money, no provider may offer it to you. In the words of the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA), the Interactive Gambling Act 2001 “makes it illegal for gambling providers to offer some online services to people in Australia”, and ACMA lists “slots (pokies)” among illegal online services. Aristocrat describes Lightning Link as a land-based game family.

ACMA asks internet providers to block sites offering such services. It warns that if you use an illegal service, “Australian regulators will not be able to help you” if the provider treats you poorly or withholds your winnings, and that a blocked site may stop you logging in to your account.

Parliament passed the Interactive Gambling Amendment (Gambling Reform) Bill 2026 on 19 August 2026; ACMA says most of the reforms commence on 1 January 2027. Our guide to the law covers the details.

Safer play. Gambling Help Online is free and confidential, 24 hours a day, on 1800 858 858 and at gamblinghelponline.org.au. You can self-exclude from all licensed Australian wagering at betstop.gov.au. Set a limit before you play, including in social casino apps. You must be 18 or over. More contacts are on our support resources page.

Lightning Link FAQ

Can you play Lightning Link online for real money in Australia?

No. ACMA says the Interactive Gambling Act 2001 “makes it illegal for gambling providers to offer some online services to people in Australia” and lists “slots (pokies)” among illegal online services, and Aristocrat’s real-money online Lightning Link, launched on 23 July 2026, is offered only in regulated US states and Canadian provinces.

Is the Lightning Link Casino app real money?

No. Its App Store listing says it does not offer gambling or an opportunity to win real money or prizes, and Product Madness says the coin balance cannot be cashed out. Coin packs cost real money.

How do I get free coins?

From the sources Product Madness lists: the daily spin and return bonus, the hourly Bonus Ready, tier rewards, friends, its social media giveaways and the rotating FREE COINS bonus in the app. Coin-generator sites are not among them.

What does Hold & Spin do?

It is the jackpot feature of every Lightning Link title, and Aristocrat says it operates the same in all of them. Aristocrat’s public game pages do not set out its detailed rules, such as the trigger or the number of respins.

Dragon Link or Lightning Link — what’s the difference?

Dragon Link builds on the Lightning Link platform with Asian-themed games and adds an Orb trigger symbol to Hold & Spin, according to Aristocrat. Lightning Link has been online for real money in regulated North American markets since July 2026; we found no such launch for Dragon Link as of 11 October 2026.

Sources and method

Written by: Helene Berner · First published: 11 October 2026 · Last updated: 11 October 2026